Jackson County
Sheriff's Office
Newport, Arkansas
Mobile Version Like us on Facebook!

Crime Tips HOTline 870-523-5842 or Submit Via Email

Phone: (870) 523-5842 (24 hours)

Fax: (870) 523-7418

Emergency: Dial 911

Email Map

615 Second Street Newport, Arkansas 72112

Administrative Office Hours: M-F 8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.

Public Information

Jackson County District Court Amnesty Program

If you owe outstanding fines and court costs to the City of Newport or Jackson County andcurrently have a non-payment warrant outstanding for your arrest you may be able to qualify for the Amnesty Program being offered by the Jackson County District Court-Newport, Diaz, Tuckerman, and Swifton Departments. The Amnesty Program offers without being arrested and spending any time in jail. There are other important benefits as well.  During the Amnesty period, which will run from January 30, 2015 thru April 30, 2015, you may go to the District Court Office and pay your fines in full and non-payment warrants will be recalled. You will not be arrested or jailed. You will not be required to appear in court and if your driver’s license has been suspended due to non-payment it will be immediately reinstated though you may be required to pay a reinstatement fee to the State Revenue Department.

Here is how the Amnesty Program works:

1) You will be required to pay your fines and court costs IN FULL if your balance is less than $1,200.00. For those who owe in excess of $1,200.00, you would be required to pay $1,200.00 toward that balance and agree to immediately start paying the balance in monthly installments.

2) Again, you will not be arrested and any non-payment warrant would be pulled immediately and dismissed.

3) If your driver's license has been suspended it will be immediately reinstated.

4) You will not be required to appear in court.

Those wishing to take advantage of this unique opportunity for amnesty should contact Jackson County District Court to inquire about their balance, and see if they qualify for this program.

CALL (870) 523-9555 EXT 118 Kristen Weatherford, District Court Clerk